VA: Scream Loud!!! The Fenton Story 3xLP Box


In stock

SKU: 712 Categories: , , ,


61 Prime Slabs of Mid 60’s Michigan/ Detroit Teen Punk by 32 Bands. The extremely limited vinyl Boxset contains 3 individual LP’s each with their own sleeve + a very informative inserts contain story and liner notes. One of the last lost treasures out of the wild mid sixties now available after 40 years. Many for the very first time. Beautifully re-mastered in gorgeous mono.
The sounds presented herein were largely recorded by young people blessed with the innocence of youth, which made all things seem possible even as college, the draft, marriage, and the other responsibilities of the real world were bearing down upon them. Some 40 years later they still possess considerable charm, at the very least evoking the magical aura of the mid-1960s, and at their best standing as enduring musical statements!

“Based in the Grand Rapids, MI, metro area, Fenton Records was not a unique phenomenon. Like many other small regional labels in the ’60s, Fenton would record any band able to cough up enough cash for a single that might be little more than a vanity pressing designed to be handed out to friends and family, given to radio, or perhaps sold at gigs. Some of these labels were little more than traps for bands; others wound up cutting some blistering rock & roll. Fenton falls into the latter camp, as its head honcho, Dave Kalmbach, was a blend of musician and mogul who wanted Fenton to be a place where local groups got the chance to see what it felt like to act like a real band by laying down tracks in a studio. Although the label never broke out of Michigan — likely never making waves outside of western Michigan, to be honest — there is a peculiar purity to the 45s Fenton rapidly released in the ’60s, as they preserve a whole gaggle of bands that were bashing out three chords for the love of the music with little hope of hitting the big time. As such, the double-disc/triple-LP set Scream Loud!! The Fenton Story — a collection of these rare, collector-cherished 45s assembled by those very same collectors — almost functions as a piece of regional folk art, capturing bands from Grand Rapids, Holland, Lansing, Muskegon, and elsewhere in western Michigan and thereby offering a specific portrait of a place, or perhaps more specifically a time. Western Michigan wasn’t that dissimilar from other areas of the U.S. in the ’60s, as there were garage bands everywhere from California to Connecticut, and they had the same influences as everybody else, but as they had no scene or sound to call their own — or even future superstars, as only guitarist Danny Gatton cut early work at Fenton — the Fenton sides illustrate just how deeply the garage rock phenomenon of the ’60s really ran.
Band after band on Scream Loud!! recycle the same sounds — the tinny organ, the razor-thin guitars supported by tin can drums — and some bands even go so far as to cut faithful covers of beloved inspirations, as when the Soul Benders tear into Love‘s “7 and 7 Is” with a bit too much reckless abandon. As such, much of this is generic but in the best possible sense; it may not define the genre but it embodies it, embracing all the conventions long before they turned into clichés. To anybody who isn’t an aficionado — and quite frankly, anybody who isn’t an aficionado has no business with this collection, as only aficionados will have the patience and temperament to sort through this — this may all sound similar, but this is garage rock of a remarkably high quality, as all the bands play with enthusiasm and most do distinguish themselves subtly, like how the Aardvarks mine dark grooves reminiscent of the Animals, which keeps this fascinating. Nevertheless, all those clattering guitars and organs do make the bands that depart from the norm stand out, whether it’s the Sheffields re-creating Merseybeat on “Nothing I Can Do,” Tonto & the Renegades dipping into smooth sprightly AM pop on “Anytime You Want Some Lovin’,” the Assortment bashing a Motown beat on the Contours cover “First I Look at the Purse,” and, perhaps most interestingly, the Jades‘ “Surface World,” which finds the group awakening to the possibilities outside of the hypocritical suburban world. This was a common sentiment in San Francisco, but to find it echoing so clearly on the shores of Lake Michigan is startling, particularly because “Surface World” has nothing to do with psychedelia — it’s just some kids from Sparta High School figuring out the world in 1965, finding their voice through rock & roll. That’s as close to folk art as garage rock got, and while you have to be way into the garage to really appreciate Scream Loud!! The Fenton Story as either music or history, if you are on its wavelength you will find it astounding.” AllMusic


Shadows In The Night
A1 The Quests – I’m Tempted
A2 Tonto & The Renegades – Little Boy Blue
A3 The Beaux Jens – She Was Mine
A4 The JuJus – I’m Really Sorry
A5 Chancellors – 5 Minus 3
A6 The Saharas – They Play It Wild
A7 The Jades – We Got Something Going
A8 The Chentelles – Be My Queen
A9 Headhunters – Times We Share
A10 The Assortment – First I Look At The Purse
B1 The 9th Street Market – You’re Gone
B2 The Blokes – All American Girl
B3 The Sheffields – Nothing I Can Do
B4 The Aardvarks – I Don’t Believe
B5 The Blues Company – She’s Gone
B6 The Soul Benders – Seven And Seven Is
B7 Black Watch – Left Behind
B8 The Penetraters – What Went Wrong
B9 The Jades – Surface World
B10 The Aardvarks – I’m Higher Than I’m Down

Do You Understand Me
C1 The Mussies – 12 O’Clock, July
C2 The Jujus – You Treated Me Bad
C3 Tribe – Fickle Little Girl
C4 The Plagues – Why Can’t You Be True
C5 Peter & The Prophets – Don’t Need Your Lovin’
C6 Tonto & The Renegades – I Knew This Thing Would Happen
C7 The Barons – Try A Love With Me
C8 The Quest’s – Shadows In The Night
C9 Me And Dem Guys – Come On Little Sweetheart
C10 Renegades V – Wine, Wine, Wine
D1 The Plagues . I’ve Been Through It Before
D2 The Mussies – Louie Go Home
D3 The Fugitives – You Can’t Blame That On Me
D4 The Legends – I’ll Come Again
D5 The Jujus – Do You Understand Me
D6 The Quest’s – Psychic
D7 The 9th Street Market – I’m A Baby
D8 Peter & The Prophets – Johnny Of Dreams
D9 The Pedestrians – It’s Too Late
D10 The Beaux Jens – Trouble Baby




I’ll Hang Around
E1 Bed Of Roses – I Gotta Fight
E2 The Aardvarks – That’s Your Way
E3 The Barons – Don’t Come Back No More
E4 The Jades – Confined Congregation
E5 The Fugitives – I’ll Hang Around
E6 The Blokes – Slander’s Child
E7 Lyn & The Invaders – Boy Is Gone
E8 Tonto & The Renegades – The Easy Way Out
E9 The Jades – Please Come Back
E10 The Pentagons – Try And Find
F1 The Plagues – (Clouds Send Down) Tears From My Eyes
F2 Poor Boys Pride – The Place
F3 Chancellors – Dear John
F4 The Assortment – Bless Our Hippy Home
F5 The Plagues – Through This World
F6 The Aardvarks – I Don’t Need You
F7 The Blues Company – Experiment In Color
F8 The JuJus – Hey Little Girl
F9 Tonto & The Renegades – Anytime You Want Some Lovin’
F10 The Quest’s – Scream Loud
F11 The Pedestrians – Think Twice




There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “VA: Scream Loud!!! The Fenton Story 3xLP Box”