HOLLY GOLIGHTLY: Singles Round Up 2xLP


In stock


Holly Golightly (real name) started her musical career as a founder member of all girl garage band Thee Headcoatees, a Billy Childish / Thee Headcoats splinter group in 1991. She spent four years as a Headcoatee before breaking away to release her debut record, The Good Things, in 1995. Where the Headcoatees sound was a blend of girl group sounds and three-chord garage-rock with all the original songs coming from the pen of Billy Childish, Holly’s solo sound is more a blend of pre-rock electric blues, folk rock, and less frantic rock & roll. Apart from the wide range of covers of such artists as Willie Dixon, Ike Turner, Lee Hazelwood, Wreckless Eric, and Bill Withers, Golightly also writes all her own material. Holly Golightly is definitely the most interesting and diverse artist to come out of the Billy Childish school and is certainly one of the better singer/songwriters of the post-grunge era who gets better with every album. Since her debut in 1995, Golightly has been very prolific, releasing 13 long play records and loads of singles for a wide variety of labels as well as touring America eight times as well as Australia & Europe. Holly’s sound has remained remarkably consistent throughout, but each record has a quality that sets it apart from the others. In 1999 she released an album with her friend Billy Childish, on which the two sound like a scuffed-up British version of Nancy Sinatra and Lee Hazelwood. Another is ‘Truly She Is None Other’ probably her most successful so far, it also featured the song ‘Tell Me Now So I Know’ which was picked for the main title theme for Jim Jarmushs movie starring Bill Murray ‘Broken Flowers’. There’s also a great compilation of all her singles and E.P’s called Single’s Round-Up. Her latest release is the mid-price sampler ‘My First Holly Golightly Album’ which is a great way to sample her songs, most of which feature in her live sets.

A1 Virtually Happy
A2 The Ride #1
A3 No Big Thing
A4 My Own Sake
A5 Til I Get
A6 Waiting Room
B1 I Can’t Be Trusted
B2 Card Table
B3 No Hope Bar
B4 Believe Me #1
B5 Come The Day
B6 In You
C1 Believe Me #2
C2 Stain
C3 Won’t Go Out
C4 Too Late Now
C5 Sand
C6 Lonesome Town
D1 Your Love Is Mine
D2 Laughing To Keep From Crying
D3 Listen
D4 Rain Down Rain
D5 You Shine
D6 Box Elder