IKE AND TINA: Don’t Play Me Cheap LP


Available on backorder

SKU: 296 Categories: ,


First vinyl reissue of Ike & Tina Turner’s 1963 album Don’t Play Me Cheap. “There has never been a team quite like Sue Records’ Ike and Tina Turner, and now, making the vocal solo scene, Tina proves herself a performer and show-woman nonpareil. Aided by the fine hand of hubby Ike, who stays to cleft some of the numbers and play the guitar and piano in fine style, Tina applies her pulsating rhythm sense to uptempo tunes with devastating effect. Then she turns around (and around) and croons a love ballad with an earthy, emotional feel that leaves the listener humble with admiration. So listen to Tina’s driving renditions of ‘Wake Up,’ ‘Mama Tell Him’ and ‘I Made a Promise Up Above’ plus her rockaballad versions of ‘Don’t Play Me Cheap,’ ‘Pretend,’ ‘Look Through Me,’ ‘Forever Mine’ and ‘My Everything to Me.’ These songs were inspired choices to bring out Tina’s rare ability to be equally at home with a shouting, screaming pulser, or a tender ballad that gives her a chance to show off her more gentle, kittenish side. As a nightclub attraction Ike and Tina have wowed em from coast to coast, and as recording stars they have no peers. And Tina’s dynamic performance in this her latest Sue album firmly places the attractive, shapely star in the annals of all-time great disk stars.” –original liner notes

A1 Wake Up
A2 I Made A Promise Up Above
A3 Desire
A4 Those Ways
A5 Mamma Tell Him
A6 Pretend

B1 Don’t Play Me Cheap
B2 The Real Me
B3 Forever Mine
B4 No Amending
B5 Love Letters
B6 My Everything To Me