MARY WELLS: The One Who Really Loves You LP


Out of stock


Mary Wells - The One Who Really Loves You

Mary Wells place as the First Lady of Motown was well and truly confirmed in 1962, thanks in large part to the runaway success of the singles the One Who Really Loves You and You Beat Me to the Punch, both of which hit the Top Ten of the pop chart. Both were written by Smokey Robinson, the second in conjunction with fellow Miracle Ronnie White, and feature the Love-Tones, a male group who briefly offered the same kind of vocal accompaniment that the Andantes would later provide. Although there is no producer credit on the resulting album, it has the stamp of Smokey running all the way through like a stick of rock. Together, Mary and Smokey were a winning combination, one which would reach it’s peak with My Guy, but much of this album is of the same kind of caliber.

A1 The One Who Really Loves You
A2 Two Wrongs Don’t Make A Right
A3 You Beat Me To The Punch
A4 I’ve Got A Notion
A5 The Day Will Come
B1 Strange Love
B2 You’re My Desire
B3 I’ll Still Be Around
B4 She Don’t Love You
B5 Drifting Love