THE DRONES: Gala Mill 2xLP


In stock


The Drones- Jezebel (Official Video from 2006)

Gala Mill is the third studio album by Australian band the Drones, which was released in September 2006. Recorded in an abandoned mill in Tasmania, it was their last album to feature founding member Rui Pereira and the first to feature Mike Noga on drums. The music, which makes “an epic leap beyond garage rock”, adds influences from folk rock and contemporary folk music to their usual punk blues style. Gareth Liddiard’s lyrics for the album are centered more on Australia’s colonial and recent history, evident in tracks such as “Jezebel”, “Words From The Executioner To Alexander Pearce” and “Sixteen Straws”. Much like its predecessor, the album received critical acclaim from sources both within and outside Australia, with much of it centered on the album’s raw musical style and Liddiard’s dark lyricism.

A1 Jezebel
A2 Dog Eared
B1 I’m Here Now
B2 Words From The Executioner To Alexander Pearce
C1 I Don’t Ever Want To Change
C2 Work For Me
C3 I Looked Down The Line And I Wondered
D1 Are You Leaving For The Country
D2 Sixteen Straws