THE MONKEYWRENCH: Electric Children LP


Only 1 left in stock


The Monkeywrench - Solar Revelations

Reissue form 1999 monster album by: Mark Arm & Steve Turner (Mudhoney, Bloodloss), Tim Kerr (Lord High Fixers) Tom Price (Gas Huffer/U-Men) Martin Bland (Bloodloss, Lubricated Goat). Recorded and remastered with Jack Endino (Nirvana, etc).

Don’t miss this outstanding second album from Mudhoney (Sub Pop) spin-off THE MONKEY WRENCH, essential for fans of the alternative American rock scene! As soon as the opening track of Electric Children begins you realize that the Monkeywrench have gotten much tighter in this their second album, since their debut eight years before.
The production also seems more raw, possibly due to the fact that the band has moved from Conrad Uno to veteran Seattle producer Jack Endino, who also engineered the first releases from bassist Steve Turner and vocalist Mark Arm’s other band, Mudhoney.
Also contributing to the rawness of the record is the absence of Arm’s trademark piano and organ.
This enhances the energy, causing you to notice a more frantic, electrified side of the band.
As on the debut album, Clean as a Broke-Dick Dog, several genres of music are given equal time, including the country of “Thirteen Nights” and “The Empty Place,” the rockabilly of “The Weasel’s in the Barn,” the Eastern modal quality of “Around Again,” and the noise rock of the closing number, “In the Days of the Five.” The Monkeywrench have grown in their ability to craft a song, and the result is a masterpiece.

A1 Solar Revelations
A2 The Empty Place
A3 Thirteen Nights
A4 Love Is A Spider
A5 In The City Tonight
A6 The Weasel’s In The Barn
A7 Cherry Red
B1 Bring On The Judgement Day
B2 From Now On
B3 Around Again
B4 Day Trader Shuffle
B5 Sugar Man
B6 In The Days Of The Five