THEE HEADCOATEES: Have Love Will Travel LP


Red vinyl

In stock


The Headcoatees - Baby please

While generally thought of as the Ladies’ Auxiliary of Billy Childish’s empire of U.K. garage rock, thee Headcoatees are a fine rock & roll combo in their own right, and their second full-length album, Have Love Will Travel, shows that while they happily collaborate with Childish, they have a style and identity of their own. Childish produced the sessions and wrote most of the songs, but thee Headcoatees display a slightly lighter touch and a more musical approach than their mentor, and they host some fine vocal talent in Holly Golightly and Kyra La Rubia, making Have Love Will Travel a more cheerful and less aggressive work than most of Childish’s own projects. The tunes are simple but they boast a higher percentage of hooks than Childish’s own albums, and the lyrics deliver a suitably gal-centric perspective on that most traditional of all pop music themes, romance, though they do offer a vital history lesson with “Louis Riel,” deliver some sound advice on “Mess of Pottage,” and show they can bash as hard as they want on their cover of the Chordettes’ “My Boyfriend’s Learning Karate.” thee Headcoatees aren’t so much Billy Childish with girls or Thee Headcoats Lite as a pop-leaning variation on the traditional Medway Rock theme, and this has enough spunk and spirit to confirm that there’s nothing wrong with being a pop group, especially when you can cover “Big Boss Man” and “I’m Gonna Make You Mine” this well. Big fun and both tougher and better crafted than you might expect.

A1 Have Love, Will Travel
A2 Baby Please
A3 Don’t Try And Tell Me
A4 Gotta Get Inside That Boy’s Mind
A5 Mess Of Pottage
A6 You Know You Can’t Resist
A7 Louis Riel
B1 Baby Come Closer
B2 Come Into My Life
B3 Tear It To Pieces
B4 Something Went Wrong
B5 Big Boss Man
B6 My Boyfriend’s Learning Karate
B7 I’m Gonna Make You Mine

You may also like…