VA: R&B HIPSHAKERS Vol. 5 2xLP + 7″


In stock


JOHNNIE PATE - Muskeeta [Federal 12325] 1958


Fifth -and last- volume of our “R&B Hipshakers” series, featuring rockin’ R&B and early soul from the King and Federal catalogues. A compilation of tracks from 1953 to 1964 by essential artists such as Hank Ballard, The 5 Royales, Little Esther, Little Willie John, Lula Reed, Albert King, that, after 5 juicy volumes (do you have them all?), reach the magic number of 100 delights from King and Federal’s incredible output. 20 terrific dance cuts selected by genre expert Mr Fine Wine, from WFMU’s Downtown Soulville. Most of the tracks have never been reissued before.
*This volume includes a previously unreleased version of Lulu Reed’s ‘Your Love Keeps A-Working on Me’ on a bonus single that will be solely available as part of this 2LP + bonus 7″ pack.

Side 1
1. Johnnie Pate – “Muskeeta”
2. Cora Woods – “Rocks In Your Head”
3. Little Esther – “Hound Dog”
4. Roy Brown & His Mighty Mighty Men – “Mr Hound Dog’s In Town”
5. Sonny Thompson – “Lost In This Great Big City”
Side 2
1. The Tenderfoots – “Save Me Some Kisses”
2. Roy Estrada & The Rocketeers – “Jungle Dreams” (part 2)
3. Albert King – “Had You Told It Like It Was (It Wouldn’t Be Like It Is)”
4. The 5 Royales – “I Need Your Lovin’ Baby”
Side 3
1. Otis Williams & His Charms – “Little Turtle Dove”
2. Little Willie John – “It Only Hurts A Little While”
3. The Zircons – “Mama Wants To Drive”
4. Tonni Kalash – “The Boss”
5. Rosemary – “Not Much (Do You Baby)”
Side 4
1. The Fabulous Denos – “I’ve Enjoyed Being Loved By You”
2. Dolph Prince – “You’re Gonna Drive Me Crazy”
3. Billy Soul – “Big Balls Of Fire”
4. The Midnighters – “It’s Love Baby (24 Hours A Day)”
Side 5
1. Kenny Martin – “My Love Is Coming Down”
Side 6
1. Lulu Reed With Sonny Thompson & His Orchestra – “Your Love Keeps A Working On Me” (previously unreleased version)