BOBKAT’65: Back Off Me LP


In stock


Inspired by mid-1960s American “Teenbeat Kiddie Garage” records, three friends from Asturias in Northern Spain, ANA (Guitar & Vocals), PAULA (Bass & Vocals) and DIEGO (Drums), decide to form a band. Even their name is unique, inspired by the BOBKAT model guitar manufactured by the Harmony Company in the mid-60s.
In July 2017 BOBKAT’65’s debut album, “THIS LONELY ROAD” was released capturing new original material and a handful of well-chosen obscurities recorded by American Teenbeat combos. The album’s unifying theme mirrors that of the vast majority of tunes featured on the Pebbles and Teenage Shutdown compilation series: loneliness—the feeling of being an outcast, finding it difficult to fit in. Songs range in style from moody ballads to beatpounding, punk-tinged rants influenced by well-known ’60s Garage groups like The Dovers, Billy & The Kids, The Nightcrawlers, and Thursday’s Children–all delivered, of course, with BOBKAT’65’s unique Kiddie Teenbeat Garage Rock vibe. With these two masterpieces they toured all Europe before they were ready to record again. They followed up with another 45 rpm 7″ single that included two original songs: “FOUR TIMES A FOOL” / “PAIN EVERYNIGHT”.
For their second full-length “BACK OFF ME” the band has enlisted ace Garage producer Jim Diamond, While the style and influences remain the same, their new songs show significant improvement in writing skills, arrangement choices and performance. They showcase the band’s maturity and skillfullness while keeping their ever-present love for the Teenbeat sounds that inspired them intact.

Sophomore album by Asturian based teen punks Bobkat’65 continuing the momentum created from their debut LP and 45s.
Bobkat’65 return with a fantastic new LP full to the brim with authentic garage criteria featuring moody ballads, fuzz punkers, underrated cover versions and amazing jangled out folk rock.
Ana and Paula’s distinctive vocal harmonies on top of well written emotive songs and held together by the glue of Diego’s drum parts, this is where Bobkat’65 excel, they produce great two and a half minute pop songs with garage punk attitude and authentic recording sounds.
The songs on this album are more defined and developed and the band sounds as though they are firing on all cylinders.
Recorded at Asturcon studios in Asturias, Spain and produced, mixed and mastered by Jim Diamond.

A1 Back Off Me
A2 Are You Really Real?
A3 Snowing In My Heart
A4 Cry With Me
A5 Society Trash
B1 Times’s Not On My Side
B2 Too Far Gone
B3 People Aren’t Worth My Time
B4 Why
B5 Again & Again

You may also like…