In stock

SKU: 832 Categories: ,


Although many people would only think of tropical genres when discussing Colombian music or Discos Fuentes, there is much more to it than that. In the mid-60s, following the massive success of Los Teen Tops, Los Apson or Los Rockin’ Devils in the Latin world, Los Yetis were signed to Discos Fuentes as part of the bunch of new bands included on their “14 impactos juveniles” compilation, as an attempt to reach a new audience very much interested in the rock & roll sounds imported from the States. A great promotional effort resulted in a huge success for the release and Los Yetis were soon invited to record their own debut album, this self-titled LP reissued here for the first time.

As the opening track of the album starts to play, we can only imagine the Colombian youth dancing with excitement to this new rock & roll music as hard as they would dance to their local rhythms. No wonder that Los Yetis’ take on the Little Anthony & The Imperials hit ‘Shimmy Shimmy Ko Ko Bop’ is at least as effective on the dancefloor as the original.

Most of the album is devoted to thrilling cover versions (Beatles, Wayne Fontana & The Mindbenders, Los Brincos…), but as we approach the last grooves of the record, the wild guitars and raw vocals of ‘Ya no te aguanto más’ set the party on fire! That irresistible garage beat track is not only the standout song but also the only original by Los Yetis on the entire album. However, another local band, Los Ampex, has to be credited for playing the instruments on these recordings, as brothers Juancho and Iván Darío López and Juan Nicolás Estela, the original members, were rather a vocal trio than a skilled band.

Now is the time to dance, jump and scream to Los Yetis!

1 Shimmy Shimmy Ko Ko Bop
2 Como el corazón me late
3 Siluetas
4 El juego del amor
5 Quiero hablarte
6 Help
7 La Bamba
8 Caminando con mi ángel
9 Tú me dijiste adiós