THE MEANIES: Desperate Measures LP


Out of stock


The Meanies - Cruel To Be Caned

Desperate Measures marks the first studio album from beloved Melbourne punks The Meanies since their victorious 2015 comeback record It’s Not Me, It’s You amassed a slew of standout album reviews across the country and reignited Australia’s longstanding love affair with the influential punk-rock outfit.

According to frontman Link Meanie, the album title Desperate Measures reflects the drastic strides we take to stomach the current state of the world.

“Desperate Measures is an album title for the times, whether it be applicable to the rise of right wing anti-intellectualism, the associated denial of impending environmentally apocalyptic disaster or the cultural lobotomy of today’s popular media,” says Link. It’s hard to see a way through this miasma of illogical negativity without… (drum roll)… desperate measures.”

A1 Old Car To Shangri-La
A2 All The Bought Men
A3 Jekyll And Hide
A4 Under My Rock
A5 Cruel To Be Caned
B1 Drowning Tower
B2 Monsters
B3 Hunting A Sloth
B4 Defcon One
B5 Sousa

Music by L. McLennan.
Drowning Tower by Lindsay McLennan / Jordan Stanley
Recorded at Hothouse Audio, St Kilda VIC Australia by Jez Giddings and Craig Harnath.
Mixed by Jez Giddings.
Produced by Link & Craig.
Mastered by John Ruberto at Mastersound.
Photos by Peter Wheeler Photography.
Art & Design by Ben Brown.