RAMONES: Subterrean Jungle LP


Only 1 left in stock


Subterranean Jungle is the seventh studio album by the American punk rock band the Ramones, released by Sire Records on February 23, 1983. Overall, the album featured a return to a somewhat more hard punk rock style compared to the band’s previous 2 LPs (End of the Century (1980) and Pleasant Dreams (1981)), which were the most pop-focused of the band’s career. This direction was encouraged by guitarist Johnny Ramone. The recording sessions saw disputes between band members, mainly due to struggles with alcohol addiction by Joey Ramone and Marky Ramone, and the drug addiction of Dee Dee Ramone.

The album begins with two cover songs, and features a third on Side 2. The band’s signature punk rock is supplemented by touches of hard rock, and psychedelic rock. The album was deemed by critics to be a return to the band’s roots, and received mostly positive reviews. Subterranean Jungle peaked at number 83 on the US Billboard 200, but failed to chart internationally. The singles released from the album did not chart. This is the last album by the band to feature Marky Ramone on drums until the 1989 album Brain Drain. It is the first album by the band to feature someone other than Joey Ramone singing lead vocals on a song, with Dee Dee Ramone singing lead on the eleventh song, “Time Bomb”.

Little Bit O’ Soul
I Need Your Love
What’d Ya Do?
Highest Trails Above
Somebody Like Me
Psycho Therapy
Time Has Come Today
My-My Kind Of A Girl
In The Park
Time Bomb
Everytime I Eat Vegetables It Makes Me Think Of You

ĐœŃƒĐ·Ń‹Đșа Records release